© 2023 Non Res SA • Terms & Conditions

International travel into South African*This article will be constantly updated as countries are added or removed from the HIGH RISK list – Government will review the list every 2 weeks*

As of today, South Africa’s borders have reopened, albeit not for everyone. With the prevalence of Covid19 still high throughout the world, the South African government have taken the decision to limit entry into the Republic.


Yesterday the relevant Ministers clarified the requirements for those wishing to enter South Africa and set out which countries have been deemed high risk, and therefore entry is currently being denied.

EVERY traveller intending to visit South Africa will be expected to produce a PCR (Polymerase Chain Reaction) test that is not older that 72 hours from the TIME OF DEPARTURE from the country of origin. The test must be conducted by a certified medical practitioner and should have the name and signature of the practitioner who conducted the test.

On arrival, travellers will be screened for any Covid19 symptoms or for contact with people who have been infected with the virus. Travellers will also need to provide proof of accommodation address should they need to self-quarantine at the time of arrival into South Africa.

If the traveller displays any Covid19-related symptoms or has been in contact with an infected person(s), they will be expected to take a mandatory Covid19 test. The test is at the traveller’s cost.

If a test comes back positive, the traveller will be subjected to a 10 day quarantine at a designated site. This quarantine accommodation will be at the traveller’s own cost.

Leisure travellers from high risk countries are not allowed into South Africa. Persons from these banned countries who which to undertake business travel into South African, may with effect from 1 October 2020, apply to the Minister of Home Affairs and demonstrate reasons for their request to enter the Republic for business purposes.

Such applications must be directed to email Covid19BusinessTravel@dha.gov.za and supported by—
(a) a copy of passport and/or temporary residence visa;
(b) proof of business activities to be undertaken in the Republic;
(c) proof of travel itinerary; and
(d) proof of address or accommodation in the Republic.

Countries the government has deemed HIGH RISK and therefore entry is denied:


Albania 🇦🇱

Argentina 🇦🇷

Armenia 🇦🇲

Austria 🇦🇹


Bahrain 🇧🇭

Belgium 🇧🇪

Bolivia 🇧🇴

Bosnia & Herzegovina 🇧🇦

Brazil 🇧🇷


Chile 🇨🇱

Colombia 🇨🇴

Costa Rica 🇨🇷

Croatia 🇭🇷

Czech Republic 🇨🇿


Denmark 🇩🇰


Ecuador 🇪🇨


France 🇫🇷


Georgia 🇬🇪

Greece 🇬🇷

Guatemala 🇬🇹

Guyana 🇬🇾


Honduras 🇭🇳

Hungary 🇭🇺


Iceland 🇮🇸

India 🇮🇳

Iran 🇮🇷

Iraq 🇮🇶

Ireland 🇮🇪

Israel 🇮🇱


Jamaica 🇯🇲

Jordan 🇯🇴


Kuwait 🇰🇼


Lebanon 🇱🇧

Luxembourg 🇱🇺


Maldives 🇲🇻

Malta 🇲🇹

Mexico 🇲🇽

Moldova 🇲🇩

Montenegro 🇲🇪


Nepal 🇳🇵

Netherlands 🇳🇱

North Macedonia 🇲🇰


Oman 🇴🇲


Palestine 🇵🇸

Panama 🇵🇦

Paraguay 🇵🇾

Peru 🇵🇪

Portugal 🇵🇹

Puerto Rico 🇵🇷


Qatar 🇶🇦


Romania 🇷🇴

Russia 🇷🇺


Slovakia 🇸🇰

Suriname 🇸🇷

Switzerland 🇨🇭


Ukraine 🇺🇦

United Arab Emirates 🇦🇪

United Kingdom 🇬🇧

United States of America 🇺🇸


Venezuela 🇻🇪


Should you have any queries regarding your intended travel into South Africa, please contact us or speak to a visa specialist to avoid any unexpected costs or problems on entry into the Republic.